Fastest Kids in CYO – Here They Are!

The 100 Meter Dash is the shortest, fastest race in the books.  The winners of this race are considered the quickest kids in the program.  Here are this year’s “Fastest Kids in CYO!”

Kiana Johnson (Cathedral) wins for the Roadrunner girls after posting the only mark in the 14 second category at 14.82.  The record for this event is 14.39 by Martha Cabrera (Holy Trinity) in 2005.  Kiana edged out Sadie Fletcher (St. Anthony) 15.04 and Lily Mae Buerkle (Madeleine) 15.29.  Johnson also won the 200 meter dash.

Chase Borden (St. John the Apostle) won the 100 for Roadrunner boys with a time of 14.08 with a close second by Joseph Stimpson (St. Pius X) 14.18 followed up by Kai Kopplin (St. Anthony) posting a time of 14.98.  Borden also won the 200 meter dash.

Selah Molden (Our Lady of the Lake) 13.73 edged out Valley Catholic’s Nina Stecher  13.85 in a close Cub division contest.  Molden came into the championships as the underdog behind Stecher who had posted a season best of 14.08 to Molden’s 14.33.  Both girls improved in the semi-finals and again in the finals to set personal bests for the year.  Hanna McAuliffe (St. Anthony) was third posting a time of 14.34.

Townsend Powell (St. Anthony) won the title for the Cub boys posting a time of 13.19 over Hugh Ruttledge’s (St. Clare) 13.76.  Grant Valley (Holy Trinity) rounded out the top 3 with a time of 13.81.  Powell came into the contest posting the best pre-season time of 13.58 and also won the 200.

Allyson Hammond, (Visitation) an 8th grader from the smallest Catholic School in the Greater Portland area which combines with the other smallest Catholic School in the Greater Portland area, Visitation School (Verboort) and St. Francis (Roy), for the second year in a row dominated the 100 meter dash for Cadet girls winning it with a very fast 13.03 over Sarah Rossetti (St. Matthew) 13.54 and Marissa Daniels (All Saints) 13.83.

Marcus Dillard (Christ the King) 11.87 and Austin Stampflee (St. Matthew) 11.93 continued the battle for speed with Marcus on top in the 100 (Stampflee won the 200).  Antony Ganz (St. Pius X) rounded out the top 3 with a time of 12.75.  Another fantastic race!

Below: Kiana Johnson, Chase Borden, Selah Molden, Townsend Powell, Allyson Hammond, Marcus Dillard.


The Long Jumpers CYO Meet of Champions

Roadrunner Girls: Kiana Johnson (Cathedral School) 13′ 8″.  Kiana broke her own Long Jump record set the week prior at the Roadrunner Regional Meet at La Salle College Prep. The old record was 13′ 5.75″.

Roadrunner Boys: Chase Borden (St. John the Apostle) 14′ 4.75″

Cub Girls: Selah Molden (Our Lady of the Lake) 15′ 3.25″.  Selah broke a record that stood for 25 years!!!  The old record was 15′ 3″ and was set by Heather Beem (St. Joseph, Vancouver, WA)

Cub Boys: Hugh Ruttledge (St. Clare) 15′ 1.5″

Cadet Girls: Jamie Griffin (Holy Trinity) 17′ 1.5″.  Jamie broke  a Twelve year old record set in 2006 by Kayla Greer (Madeleine) with a jump of 16’11.5″. (No Photo available)

Cadet Boys: Austin Stampflee (St. Matthew) 19′ 9.25″

Below: Kiana Johnson, Chase Borden, Selah Molden, Hugh Ruttledge, Austin Stampflee